I’m Back! + The Pottery Yurt

Hi everyone!

I’m back!

I haven’t posted in so long because this year has been very busy, but I really want to start posting here again. I have so many photos I can’t wait to share!

Today I’ll be showing you a co-op art studio near me. ย They have a yurt pottery wheel studio, which can be very crowded at times!

Today I will be taking you through the complex process of pottery wheel!

The pot is thrown on the wheel.

DSC_0266 copy.jpeg

Then the pots are fired for the first time.

DSC_0194.jpeg

Off to the glaze yurt.

DSC_0283 2.jpeg

DSC_0299.jpeg

Next, the pots are dipped in buckets of specially made glaze.

DSC_0308.jpeg

The glaze dries on the pots on the holding shelf.

DSC_0218 2.jpeg

The pots are fired at over 2,000 degrees Fahrenheit in the kilns.

DSC_0207.jpeg

After cleaning the pottery yurt for the next artists, the process is finished.

DSC_0237 2.jpeg

While it seems like it should be a quick and easy process, making a single pot can take months of hard work.

Which photo is your favorite? Have you tried a pottery wheel?

Thanks for reading!

screen-shot-2018-02-08-at-9-31-59-pm2.png

7 thoughts on “I’m Back! + The Pottery Yurt”

  1. I love all of the pictures, but the first one is my favorite! Although the picture of inside the yurt is really interesting. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment